TL;DR
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock, its first smart lock, with a thumb-turn dial that can generate enough power to unlock the door if its battery dies. Priced at $249, it is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval; Amazon has not specified how many turns are required.
Amazon has announced the Ring Smart Lock, its first smart lock, with a thumb-turn dial that can generate enough power to unlock the door if the rechargeable battery dies. The $249 lock is expected to go on sale in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval, and is designed to provide an emergency entry option without a physical backup key.
The lock’s thumb-turn dial doubles as a manual charger. Amazon says turning it “a few times” can generate enough power to unlock the door and get inside, after which the battery can be fully recharged. The company has not said how many turns are needed or how much power each turn produces. That makes the dial’s emergency capability a product claim rather than a quantified performance guarantee.
Other access methods include a fingerprint reader and backlit touchscreen keypad. Owners can register multiple users and set schedules or temporary codes that expire after a specified period. The lock can also be operated and monitored through the Ring app or controlled by voice using Alexa-compatible devices, including Echo speakers.
Ring says installation requires no wiring because the lock uses a replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack. Instead of connecting directly to home Wi-Fi, it communicates over Amazon’s Sidewalk network, which is intended to provide low-power, long-range connectivity. Remote access and alerts will depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage where the lock is installed.
Emergency Entry Without a Backup Key
A dead battery can leave a smart-lock user unable to use electronic entry features. The Ring design addresses that situation with a power-generating thumb turn built into the lock, rather than a separate charging port or external battery connection. If the feature works as Amazon describes, it could offer a simpler way to restore enough power for entry when the battery fails unexpectedly.
The lock also combines keypad, fingerprint, app and voice access, with options for temporary codes and scheduled users. Those features may be useful for households that share access with visitors or service providers. However, the product announcement does not establish how reliably the emergency charging method works in real-world conditions, how long a full recharge takes or whether users will need another access method if the dial cannot generate sufficient power.
Sidewalk connectivity is another practical consideration. The lock is not relying on a direct Wi-Fi connection, but remote controls and alerts still depend on the network being available at the home. Buyers will need to weigh the lock’s access features against coverage, battery replacement and the $249 price.
Ring smart lock emergency power charger
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Ring’s First Lock and Its Ecosystem
The announcement marks Ring’s move into smart locks, expanding a product line known for cameras and doorbells. Unlike a camera-equipped entry device, the Ring Smart Lock has no camera. People who want to see who is at the door will need to pair it with a Ring doorbell or another compatible camera, according to the product description.
The lock was announced alongside new Ring cameras, but those products are separate from its core functions. The source report says the company also introduced 4K camera models and a 2K indoor camera. Those launches provide context for Ring’s broader home-security lineup; they do not change the lock’s stated price, access methods or expected release window.
Amazon has not provided an exact launch date. The US availability estimate is early 2027, and the release remains subject to FCC approval. The lock is planned in black, silver and brass finishes.
“The lock is expected to be available in the US sometime in early 2027, pending FCC approval.”
— The Verge report
smart lock with manual thumb-turn charging
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Charging Claims Await More Detail
Amazon has not disclosed the number of dial turns required, how much energy they generate or the conditions under which the emergency unlock feature will work. The announcement also does not specify the time needed to recharge the battery fully, battery life between charges or the cost and availability of replacement battery packs.
The US launch is still planned for early 2027 and depends on FCC approval. No exact release date is given, and availability outside the US is not stated. The product information also does not clarify Sidewalk coverage requirements or what access features remain available during a network outage.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
US Launch Awaits FCC Approval
The next stated milestone is the Ring Smart Lock’s expected US release in early 2027, subject to FCC approval. Amazon has not announced a specific sale date or said when preorders will open. Further product details would be needed to assess the dial’s emergency charging performance, battery endurance and Sidewalk coverage.
At launch, the lock is planned to cost $249 and come in black, silver and brass. Until Amazon provides more specifications or the product becomes available for testing, the number of turns needed for emergency entry and the feature’s performance in everyday use remain unverified.
Ring smart lock with fingerprint and keypad
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock charge when its battery dies?
Amazon says turning the thumb-turn dial generates enough power to unlock the door. The company has not specified the exact number of turns needed.
When will the Ring Smart Lock be available?
It is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval. No exact release date has been announced.
How much will the Ring Smart Lock cost?
The announced price is $249. It is planned in black, silver and brass finishes.
Can the lock show who is at the door?
No. The Ring Smart Lock does not include a camera. The source report says users will need a separate Ring doorbell or camera to see visitors.
Does the Ring Smart Lock connect to Wi-Fi?
It connects to devices through Amazon’s Sidewalk network, rather than relying on the home’s Wi-Fi. Remote access and alerts depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage.
Source: rss
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
